Menu

THE Instant Pot Best Ideas for Busy/Sick-of-it Parents thread!!!

Ginevra

Please help a girl out, especially if you have been using the Instant Pot a while and have several (even just a few) go-to IP fail-safe recipes that you love and your family will all or mostly all eat. I am new to the IP and I really want to come up with a decent repertoire of at least 7 great go-to recipes that I can probably make on hand and in not much more than 30 minutes.

I'm hoping we can just keep adding to this thread so it stays bumped for several weeks. THANKS SO MUCH!

• Like 5

How about lasagna?  I have a slow cooker cookbook that has a recipe for slow cooker lasagna, and my kids quite like it.  The basic gist of the recipe is to layer uncooked noodles (broken up a bit to cover the non-rectangular shape of the slow cooker), browned meat or other filling, ricotta cheese, and sauce, and top with parmesan -- I'll let you play around with seasonings and proportions (don't want to plagiarize the parts of the recipe that make it unique).  If you sauce isn't very wet you can add 1/4 water to the pot to provide enough wet for the noodles to soften, but in my slow cooker I have found I don't need the water.  I cook mine on low for under 4 hours; the recipe calls for 5 hours, but I have found the noodles to be too soft for my taste.

• Like 1

I have made these in the last couple of weeks, since I got my IP...

http://predominantlypaleo.com/instant-pot-lemon-garlic-chicken/

• I used 12 bone-in thighs and cooked for 15 minutes, NPR 
  • I recommend browning the chicken first

http://thisoldgal.com/pressure-cooker-pork-chops-in-homemade-mushroom-gravy/

• I put potatoes on top and they cooked at the same time - very convenient

I made a beef stew as well that was super easy and very similar to the pork chop recipe

I've made jasmine rice and steel cut oats too - both recipes from the IP recipe booklet.

• Like 2

I have made these in the last couple of weeks, since I got my IP...