Menu

How and When to Accelerate (?)

luvatlax

I'm new to homeschooling. My five-year-old daughter and I just started her official kindergarten year on Monday. She is certainly not accelerated at this point (and I don't plan to accelerate her any time soon), but I am curious as to how and when you accelerated your kids. Did the kids themselves ask for more work? Or did you choose to push them a bit more?

A little background on us:

My daughter learned to sight-read approximately twenty words before she turned two (I did this just by playing with alphabet magnets on the refrigerator with her) among a few other things (mostly things she learned "early" for her age through flashcards), however, I backed off and dropped "teaching" her as I felt a little crazy (she started walking at eight months, so, naturally, I thought she was a genius and was chomping at the bit to see what else she could do - haha). :)

I tried homeschooling her last year for preschool and had a few different workbooks, etc., but we didn't make much progress with anything as we ended up playing and going places (library, parks, rec center) the majority of the time. We just started Logic of English Foundations A (she does not know how to read yet) and Miquon Orange (although I'm almost second guessing this seeing Singapore mentioned so much here - haha) and we spend the rest of the day doing fun stuff. :)

Honestly, I never planned to accelerate. We just did what seemed reasonable and did the next thing, I did panic a bit at age 7 when she was demanding to start algebra, when she started moving into high school coursework, when she audited her first college class, when she went to her first research conference, and so on-but so far, it's been the logical next step. Now she's at a crossroads again-and I don't know what will happen a year from now-there are several possible logical next steps, and she's not sure what she wants. Ask me in a few years now it worked ;)

• Like 8