Menu

What's everyone doing for Valentine's Day?

hjffkj

Just wondering because I love hearing about how others celebrate different holidays.

We have never celebrated Valentine's Day. I have always hated how huge of an emphasis has been put on the day but am always thrilled for other people's happiness. This year is the first day I'll be celebrating it since I was a elementary student handing out silly premade cards to classmates. My children heard from their grandmother that Sunday was Valentine's Day, she always gets everyone a little card and some chocolate, so there kids took it upon themselves to make cards for family members. This turned into dh making me a card because the kids wanted him to(I haven't seen it yet.) So I decided to follow in Ralph Wiggum's footsteps and made dh a card that says " I choo choo choose you." With a picture of a train on it. And that is the extent of our celebration.

What do you do?

• Like 2

Why, making a bunch of snacks and watching The Walking Dead, of course! LOL :P We tend to not do much of anything for these smaller holidays, honestly. Keepin' the expectations low for our kids' future spouses, I guess.

I wish we were watching The Walking Dead. We don't have cable to we are always a season behind and have to wait for it to come on Netflix.

We don't do much.  We try to acknowledge it for our son's sake, so if/when he marries he will not disappoint his as-yet-hypothetical wife.  We figure he will end up with someone with low expectations, but not necessarily zero expectations, kwim?   (As in, not expecting extravagant gifts but not expecting the day to go unacknowledged, either.)   He doesn't pick up on those things naturally but needs explicit guidance.  :-)