Menu

Drowning in Languages

YsgolYGair

I am struggling with homeschooling and life and getting it all done. I teach three languages - I teach through the medium of two, and the third is on its own at the moment. They are integral parts of our family dynamic, and I am required to teach them. It is expected that over the course of home education, they will all be taught to the same standard. If we memorise an English poem, we must memorise a Welsh poem and a French poem. In fact, if I want to get rid of something, the only one I would be free to eliminate would be English, but I'm not okay with that.

There are plenty of other subjects that I feel are an important part of a good education besides languages that I am just not sure I could let go of. I have a math degree, so I want them to get a stellar math education, and then there's history and science and all the lovely arts and enriching life subjects. I feel that I'm caught between the two options of school being life (for me and the kids) or our kids being poorly taught in three languages.

American children may spend an hour on English each day, but if my children only spend 20 minutes, they'll be two-thirds behind other English speakers. I'm just not sure I can do that to them. 

I think it's scheduling and life management advice I need, but philosophical thoughts will be appreciated, too. 
  • Like 1

We do not an hour English LA.

A subject in a language is sometimes just as effective.

I like the idea of rose of focusing on certain days on certain languages.

you might go for a 6 day schoolweek so you have 2 days per language.

a homeschool collegue alternated the languages.

Week A had a focus on English,

Week B a focus on French

Week C on German.

this way she didn't drown.

she continued the languages in every week, but at a lower pace.

Multiple Languages ask effort, time and finally also money as our libraries are not multilingual.

So we had /have to buy readingbooks for every language.