Menu

Xpost - studying Latin & Spanish simultaneously?

I posted this to the K-8 board first, then realized I probably should have put it here instead -

So how possible would it be to study Latin and Spanish at the same time? How confusing would it be? I’ve avoided it in the past (Latin is going great for us, dropping it is not an option), but we have some really good opportunities to speak Spanish with various hispanic friends, so I hate to put it off.

DS is 9 and we take foreign language seriously around here with lots of immersive reading, daily vocab review, explicit grammar discussions, etc. We definitely do not qualify as "gentle", but DS enjoys it, and the challenge is good for him. He is generally very strong in language arts and foreign languages.

Years ago I studied Latin and French at the same time, but I was a bit older than your son. But it worked out well, so I'll share a bit about how it went in case that helps. I think the issues would be pretty similar for Spanish.

I had a year of Latin first, at age 11-12, then started French and studied them together. Initially French confused me because it was easier! In my mind "foreign language" meant "inflected language" and at first I was puzzled that French nouns didn't change as Latin nouns do--even though English nouns don't change. But that was just at the beginning. Before long they were just two separate tracks and there was no confusion.

I think it helped that French is pronounced so very differently from Latin. My "mind's ear" just filed all the vocabulary in separate places because it didn't sound the same.

Certain areas where the grammar is the same were actually helpful: French adjective agreement? No problem, we have that in Latin, it's just easier in French. Big tables of verbs? Right, like Latin.