Menu

Does anyone here make sauerkraut?

MEmama

Yesterday I came home with a ginormous head of leafy cabbage from my CSA. I'm looking for new ways to prepare or, preferably, put up some of the greens I get each week. It was suggested that I make a quick kraut using salt and raw apple cider vinegar. I made enough for several servings, and then packed the rest into a mason jar. The cabbage is fully submerged with liquid, and I have cheesecloth covering the mouth of the jar.

This morning I'm reading conflicting information about whether using the vinegar is a good idea (if unnecessary) or not.

What say the Hive's food preservationists? Any other kraut making tips you'd like to share?

I've been making kraut for 2 yrs with just salt and cabbage. The surface of the cabbage has more than enough microbes to start the process. Mine comes out really good every time. However, mine isn't quick kraut. I let it go 6 weeks. Maybe the vinegar is used because its the 'quick' kind.

• Like 2

I've been making kraut for 2 yrs with just salt and cabbage. The surface of the cabbage has more than enough microbes to start the process. Mine comes out really good every time. However, mine isn't quick kraut. I let it go 6 weeks. Maybe the vinegar is used because its the 'quick' kind.

Thanks. I think you are right about the vinegar, but since I had so much left over I figured I'd try to properly ferment the remainder. I can't see why the vinegar would hurt (it is raw so it should have microbes too, right?), but this my first experiment with kraut and I don't want a moldy mess/ to kill anyone. Lol. Or more likely, just have it not work.

Thanks. I think you are right about the vinegar, but since I had so much left over I figured I'd try to properly ferment the remainder. I can't see why the vinegar would hurt (it is raw so it should have microbes too, right?), but this my first experiment with kraut and I don't want a moldy mess/ to kill anyone. Lol. Or more likely, just have it not work.