Menu

housing after college graduation

One of the "helicopter mom" things I think about...

I've always admired by BIL who encouraged his dds to return home after college graduation, save half their pay, and put a down payment on a condo/townhouse/house a year later.  The dds who've done this have theoretically reaped the benefits of home ownership.  One has already traded up for a bigger house for the children coming along.  They live in the Chicago area.

After I graduated, I rented for many years until I married at the ripe old age of 31.  In one way, it was beneficial because I moved to grad school after working for 3 years.  OTOH, because dh changed careers which included a stint back in school, several moves, and tax benefits from ministry housing, we still have 10+ years to pay on our mortgage (at the ripe old ages of 54/64).  Our last move was in 2004, and our house is still not worth what we paid for it back then.  :crying:

I don't expect ds to move back to the area when he graduates because our local economy/industry would not be attractive to a young engineer.  I think about suggesting that he find a roommate when he graduates and settles into his first job, but I sure did not do that.  I made $25,000/yr when I graduated in 1984, and never even considered a roommate.

And then, I wonder if housing is such of a good investment anymore.  Ours sure has not been.  I listened to a radio show that talked about how it's not so beneficial in this day and age of disloyal companies and greater geographic mobility.  It's rare that people spend 30 years at a company anymore.  And, having the "burden" of a mortgage can limit job prospects if needed due to layoff, etc.

I guess one exception would be if you lived in a large metro area (like Chicago) where there are plenty of other job prospects if needed/wanted.