Menu

Is Barton hard to implement?

Ds gets 30 tutoring sessions mostly covered by insurance. That makes tutoring affordable while he is covered. That only gets us 4 months though and maybe through level 3 they said. After that the cost becomes expensive and we could not afford the two sessions a week. I did not think I was up to it myself but maybe I could. It suddenly makes the program seem affordable.

How does implementing Barton compare to something like AAR? Are the videos all you need? Needing to watch something and figure it out is something that will be a bit of a struggle for me. I am not good at organizing. I also worried I will get discouraged pretty fast that it is not working when maybe it just is going to be a struggle.

Barton is easy peasy to implement.  Honest.  It's TOTALLY scripted, and it comes with videos online and in the box that show you EVERYTHING.  The real trouble is not the materials, sigh.  The real trouble is the kid and the way they handle challenges.  Like getting up and walking away or having meltdowns or screaming or whatever they do.  But maybe your kid is a saint, hehe.  My kid, he's a pistol.  I'm a pistol, so we just make it work.   :D

Really though, I rip teachers manuals up and down all the time, any publisher, and Barton I ADORE.  I think she has some samples on her website.  Her stuff is absolutely fabulously organized, easy to pick up and go. You don't even have to figure things out.  Literally just read what it says.  She has a full script in the main column and she has short notes in the sidebar for the people who have the gig down and who just want notes.  And she has the dvd lessons for you to watch where she teaches you every step, slowly and methodically.  As long as you will spend some time to watch and read, you should be fine!   :)