Menu

Kathy, MBM, others? Math Camp, Promys, Math Scholarships experience

quark

Asking for details about high school level math camps and opportunities and not necessarily math competitions.

Would love any and all feedback, any details you can share would be great as I am a complete newbie to helping DS plan for math summer camps.

DS will be of age for Math Camp in 2016 but I am not sure about other camps out there.

I understand calculus is not a prereq for MC but he will have two college semesters of it as well as a semester of multivariable calculus and another semester of something beyond mv calc if that is of any useful info. I'm mentioning this only to demonstrate his love of math (fully self propelled and self-seeking of proof-based math problems). The qualifying quiz seems right up his alley in terms of interest (but he has not attempted it yet).

I think what has been most on my mind about math summer camps and applying for one is that he is NOT a competing sort of kid. He can be competitive if time is not required, but will not like or do well in anything that is timed/for speed and resists contests both from a philosophical point of view and due to lack of experience I guess. I know that for most it's about community, not competing...but the opportunity for community aspect does not overpower his dislike of competing if that makes sense. I think I also worry about him sticking out as one of the few non-competitive kids in environments like these.

• Like 1

You can avoid competition math at Mathcamp if it's not your thing!! I would say that the focus was on community and learning MUCH more than contests. Most all of the kids embrace that spirit. Even the kids who are IMO medalists at camp (and there usually are some) tend not to be focused on competition prep during their summers.