Menu

Help me choose math for pre-alg to calculus

My dd will be 7th grade and ready for pre-algebra next school year. She has been using Math Mammoth for years, almost entirely independently. Now I'm looking for a curriculum to take her from pre-alg to calculus. I know we could have to make a change, but I'm hoping to not curriculum hop if possible. I have a math education degree, so teaching it doesn't scare me. I just don't want something that requires a lot of prep time. I don't want a video or online course. I want a very solid program. Suggestions?

• Like 1

http://forums.welltrainedmind.com/topic/542418-homeschool-high-school-math/

is a good place to see many options in one place. Without knowing more about your student, it's hard to say more. Can you provide more details about interest level in math, what works best for DD, etc.? Art of Problem Solving is top notch, and challenging; Foerster for algebras, precalculus, and calculus, with Jacobs or Jurgensen for geometry, would be a solid option.

Keep in mind you may change once you begin.

I bought Derek Owens for PreA and Math Math to supplement with idea I could use DO all the way thorough after looking at the possibilities. I had looked at/ own Dolciani books, Foester books, the ones recommended for Math without borders, etc. I thought I had a plan.

We did about 2 weeks of "real" preA and ended up moving on to Jacobs Algebra. She was ready, and Jacobs has enough PreA to fill in any gaps that may be there, which were pretty limited based on the placement test at the Dr Callahan site.

So all of my PreA planning/ long term planning was a waste. We came out of Singapore through 5 and MM for 6 + some supplements (like the set theory chapter in a Dolciani PreA book for logic). Jacobs was a good fit for my independent learner after MM. Worth a look.