Menu

processing speed: how low is low?

(ETA: as in low enough to be worried. He is my failure to thrive kid. I had also gotten polite complains from outside teachers over the years)

Just got back the WISC-IV extended norms results. Wandering how "bad" the score is for my 9yr 2mth son.

PSI composite score 100 percentile 50
Coding 09 (scaled score)
Symbol search 11 (scaled score)

My 10yr 2mth son
Coding 11 (scaled score)

Does that mean both have bad coding score? (ETA: both boys nearly had OT evaluations, hit motor skills milestones late).
GAI was computed for both as well as FSIQ. Extended norms were use as both hit ceilings for some of the subtests.

Just to give you a bump...your younger's looks about mid range to me. Scaled scores normally ceiling at 18-19 right?

Your older's is interesting...hitting a ceiling with symbol search and mid range-ish for coding.

I wouldn't call this low but I am not an expert.

I have come across kids scoring at the lower 10th percentile for PSI but scoring at the superior or very superior range in other areas. That is a huge discrepancy and parents confide that signs are usually clear earlier on and that they need a lot more help with writing.

Were you able to receive some interpretation of results? If extended norms were used then I am assuming the psych is possibly more well-versed with giftedness/2e than usual? I had to calculate extended norms myself because our tester wasn't going to and also because we tested through a university (through their psych department) and not through a private tester.

No.  If I understand your scores correctly (those are scaled subtest scores, not percentiles, correct?), one is average for PS and one is very high for PS.  The average scaled score for coding is 10, so one of your kids is just below and one is just above average.