Menu

Curriculum suggestion for 8th grade 20th Century focus

lactansdea

My history minded 7th grader has expressed an interest in studying the 20th century next year.  I note that Tapestry of Grace has a 20th Century curriculum, but i confess i'm overwhelmed by the website and can't quite glean what it's like.  Also, i'm a very hands off teacher and do NOT do crafts, etc.

We've done SL in the past, and enjoyed it, and I have considered Core H, but I stink at doing read aloud reliably; so if I went with that it would have to be without the read alouds.  (Also I will have a fourth grader, so i'm not sure that the subject matter/grade level of those read alouds would be time well spent for us.)  

I like Mystery of History, but it seems to lack corresponding literature, so i'd have to reinvent the wheel.

Thoughts?

MR

K12's Human Odyssey volume 3 covers WWI to current.

My DS is using it independently. He outlines his readings WTMish-style. We add some lit and documentaries. We don't do crafts here either.  :D

Here's a link where you can view the table of contents and an excerpt. Don't let the list price scare you . . . it can be found much less expensively on the used market.  http://www.christianbook.com/odyssey-volume-3-modern-world-studies/9781601530189/pd/530188?event=ESRCN

You can search or ask here on the forums for accompanying lit if you want to add more to it.

• Like 2