Menu

CAP Writing & Rhetoric: 12yo dysgraphic ds

Hi all,

My 12 yo ds has dysgraphia, and it is the kind where it is hard for him to put thoughts on paper.  We have been doing Bravewriter with great success.  I won't abandon it completely, but I'm needing more guidance or we'll be stuck doing freewrites for months on end (which is what we've been doing since August when I felt like he was ready for the next step beyond just freewriting).

I'm looking at CAP Writing and Rhetoric.  We'd start with the first book (grade 3/4) Fables.  I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with this writing curriculum with a dysgraphic, little bit older student?

TIA!

Jennifer

I have no experience with CAP, but we've used the Progymnasmata approach with a tutor when two of my older children were your son's age. They started with fables. Even though CAP places a lower grade level on writing fables, that seems a perfectly appropriate place to start. Pro-gym builds, so if you are going to use that approach, start at the beginning. One thing that I learned through my children's progym classes that was re-enforced through special needs programs: teach to mastery.  The one-on-one tutor gave only two or three corrections a day to their work--and that process kept going until the child produced an "A" quality paper for that lesson.