Menu

Running a homeschool group

Does anyone have words of wisdom they would like to share?  :bigear: 

We have a local group that was started by our last president. She passed the baton to me due to stress and health issues in her personal life. The group was started on meetup.com, and run totally by her. There was no secretary, treasurer, etc. I would like to change that, and spread out the load and responsibilities. I'm not sure meetup.com is what I want to stick with. It's great for posting events and field trips, but maybe not so much for helping the leadership communicate with each other and forming a sense of community with the members. But, I'm fairly new to this (less than one month) and there may be features I'm not utilizing. So, I'm all ears to any advice you have to offer, particularly pertaining to the group's web presence. 

Thanks!!!

Does anyone have words of wisdom they would like to share?  :bigear: 

We have a local group that was started by our last president. She passed the baton to me due to stress and health issues in her personal life. The group was started on meetup.com, and run totally by her. There was no secretary, treasurer, etc. I would like to change that, and spread out the load and responsibilities. I'm not sure meetup.com is what I want to stick with. It's great for posting events and field trips, but maybe not so much for helping the leadership communicate with each other and forming a sense of community with the members. But, I'm fairly new to this (less than one month) and there may be features I'm not utilizing. So, I'm all ears to any advice you have to offer, and particularly pertaining to the groups web presence. 

Thanks!!!

Are you thinking of a support group or a co-op?

If it's a support group, I have some thoughts on that. If it's a co-op, I got nothin'.