Menu

fidgets for a kid with sensory issues?

prairiewindmomma

I volunteer with our children's program at church. (We are all volunteers.) Since I have some experience from my own not-NT kids, I've been assigned to work with a 4yo who needs a one-on-one aide. His mom and I are friends, and we've worked out a number of details, but I know I need some small, inexpensive fidgets that I can keep in a bag to pull out as needed to help him participate in class as much as possible. What do your kids like? He has the motor skills of an 18-24 month old, a very limited vocabulary, a 2-3 minute attention span, but no cognitive impairment.  I'm guessing I need 10 or so items that are the same that can be "constants" in the bag and 3-5 items that I change up regularly. Food and drink are not options....he only has 3-4 foods he eats, and I'll already have his special sippy of water.

Sunday School sucks when you're non-verbal.  You can't answer questions, can't sing, can't color.  I'd take him for a walk.  

Not what you wanted, sorry.  My kid started balking at Awana.  He just totally shut down, being in a scenario where he couldn't function.  That's why I'm saying sometimes the answer is to change the plan entirely.  Yes, if you took the dc for a walk and then read to him from a Bible storybook, that would be grand.  Have you thought of having an extra set of flannel graph pieces (if they use flannel graphs for the story) and let him do them on a board at his seat?  

When my ds was little he had the Betty Lukens flannel graph BOOKS.  They're a pain in the butt to assemble, because you have to cut, use hot glue, lose your mind, make pockets for pieces... But yeah, there are a number of them and you could rotate.  Felt figures have been good for my ds.