Menu

Would you buy/use a Physical Science book (Holt) with a 2001 copyright?

I am no expert, but I do not know exactly how much physical science could have changed in the last two decades.  I mean our idea of electron orbitals is developing, but we don't really know much other than that our old thoughts are not exactly right.  Khan Academy even teaches the "older version" but then just says "We know this isn't exactly right, but we don't really know how it isn't right yet."  or something to that effect.  There are new elements on the Periodic Table, but again, very few have been confirmed and completely decided on names yet.  I'd just let the student know that science is always changing.  Khan is a great resource for short movies on various physical science subjects.  If you supplemented here and there, I can't see a problem.  He is very upfront even that we might find out tomorrow some of the things we are talking about today haven't been totally understood.

So I would go for it.  If your student is in eighth grade, they are going to see the material again.  Holt has never been fantastically cutting edge to begin with so I have a feeling it is a fairly survey course without getting into super specific depth on any real subject.

If it was biology, I'd say no way, but physical science I'd go for.

definitely

the cutting edge modern developments in physics or chemistry will not be covered in an introductory text, let along a Physical Science text.

This.  It is a myth perpetuated by the texbook publishers that high school science texts are outdated every few years.  

Thank you all! You were very helpful! Of course I missed out on the deal I was specifically talking about (lol!) but this will help me as I continue my search.

I'm having a heck of a time trying to figure out exactly what I need for Holt physical science so input would be welcome on that as well. Need to find used and affordable. :)

Thanks again!