Menu

I will put my daughters schedule below, but I am just stuck. We made it through lesson 78 in Saxon Algebra 1 last year. This year I was hoping to finish it and then start alg. 2 Saxon.

Here is the problem. She hates it. Algebra should be fun or at least comfortable IMHO. I have a math degree, it is not that I don't know the material backwards forward.

If we decide to use some other book, we will be following the schedule of Alg. 1 in 9th, Geometry in 10th, Algebra 2 in 11th and trig. in 12th. Will she be ready for the sat or psat on this schedule?

Also she doesn't want to "start over" Algebra 1 with another book, but she just is constantly complainng that she hates the way math is going!!

My husband thinks it is part attitude and that we should finish her out in Alg 1 Saxon even if we just take our time. Such a struggle with this daughter. And I don't want her to be a guru in math, just up to speed...she has the ability...but also prepared for tests later and for the minimum amount of math she will need to take in college. Her strenghths lie  more with writing, foreign language and artistic venues.

Thanks for listening