Menu

Engineering, architect, building.... curriculum advice

My eleventh grade son has decided that for the last two years of school he would like to focus on engineering or becoming an architect.

Those are the things he wants to focus on in college. I want him to take a course in one or both over the next two years.

I think they would both be great electives. As we are in NYS we can not go out and take any such courses at a school.

Any ideas of books or sites to visit? Do you think you could apprentice something like this? I would like him to be able to

see what goes into the work. He loves building things and creating electrical things from other objects.

Any advice would be welcome.

I am a civil engineer who has done a mix of structural and mechanical work and project lead work, my dh is an electrical engineer who has worked in automation and instrumentation.  I don't know anything about what is available in the state of New York but I am willing to answer any questions.  How is he at math and science?

I don't have any curriculum advice, but I would highly recommend engineering over architecture for an undergraduate degree. Unemployment is so much less in engineering, and salaries are higher. Whole decades go by when the real estate market isn't good and many architects are unemployed. Engineers are always needed.

Also, structural engineers fix the architects' mistakes, right? ;)

I came in with ideas for upper elementary and middle schoolers.  We've seen some cool resources about building for those ages, but no clue for high school.  I agree that you should post on the high school board as well.

Also, structural engineers fix the architects' mistakes, right? ;)

I came in with ideas for upper elementary and middle schoolers. We've seen some cool resources about building for those ages, but no clue for high school. I agree that you should post on the high school board as well.