Menu

Do you read aloud the REALLY great books or let your kids read them?

Meadowlark

Now that my son is reading chapter books, I have a problem. I tend to pick the really great books for read alouds because I love our snuggle time and can't handle "twaddle". I'm also a former reading teacher so I have tons of the classics and award winners here. But...as I look at reading guides/curriculum for future years, I'm noticing a lot of them include the very same books I'm reading aloud NOW.

So, then I start to think...is it really okay to read aloud the book now, and then have them read it independently 2-3 years from now and naturally dig deeper? Or, should the first time they read it, be fresh and new to them? For example, we read Charlie and the Chocolate factory 2 years ago and today my son saw it on the shelf and practically retold it to me he remembered it so well.

I don't know which ones to read now and which ones to save!?! I'm starting to freak out when I see a Sonlight book list for grade 4, and I think "darn, we read that one!". I mean, how do you decide without knowing what curriculum you'll actually be using in the future? Hopefully this makes some kind of sense. Thoughts appreciated.

I'm having this problem, too.  However, I really want my daughter to enjoy these classics for themselves, which I think is easier right now as an audiobook/read aloud.  If we "review" them later and she reads them on her own, then maybe knowing the plot as she goes into it means she might be able to get much deeper than she would have been able to now.  She is reading chapter books, but I am picking ones that are much longer or might be more difficult for her to navigate as our read alouds.