Menu

Does TranscriptPro use the word "Official??"

I've been looking for a program that I can just plug in our info for a transcript.  (I'm not very good at excel and such.)  TranscriptPro by Inge Cannon looks like just the thing, but I've been hearing people talk about how important it is to use the word "Official Transcript" across the top.  In their online example it just says "High school transcript."  Can you change that to say Official?  If not, does anyone have any other program they love?

I have no idea why the word "official" would need to be included. I'd like to know about this from others, as well. 

I do have a copy of my college transcript, complete with the registrar's seal and it doesn't say "official" anywhere on it. There is a  message rubber stamped in red on each page that reads "Issued to student." 

I have no idea why the word "official" would need to be included. I'd like to know about this from others, as well.

Yes, the word "official" really is very important.

An unofficial transcript is one you can print off yourself or is a student copy, and so there is no guarantee that you didn't tamper with it in some way. An unofficial transcript is primarily an "internal" document, used within the school and by the student as an academic standing evaluation tool, for class clearance (accomplishment of pre-requisites), and for other school & student business.

An official transcript is one that is printed on special paper, with seal/stamp of the registrar, and sent to a third party at your request (and payment of the fee), which proves it is a valid document that has not been tampered with because you have never touched it. Official transcripts are primarily external documents of proof of student's academic status and work, used in transferring from one school to another, or for employment verification of completion of academic work.