Menu

Super Simple Scheduling

My oldest is an eleventh grader this year, so we're beginning our 12th year of homeschooling. I thought I'd post how I'm scheduling these days in case it might help someone else.

I used to be known for my reading lists. 180 days of reading scheduled out every year, page by page, chapter by chapter. I didn't keep the boys together in history and science--it didn't work well with the reading list mentality.

Over the last couple of years, we've simplified. I turned our daily reading lists into yearly reading lists. When each boy finishes a book, he simply moves on to the next. They seem to read just as much, but it feels more laid back, and it allows for more rabbit trails and exploring the library shelves.

Ironically, though, I simplified a bit too much. History and science spines were being forgotten. So here's our No Spine Left Behind method.

I have a master composition book. I figure if I go crazy and start making extra notes, I might need a second one before my youngest graduates, but probably not unless one of the cats pees on it.

Inside the front cover, I filled out the handy schedule with our normal subjects, in the order that I'd like for us to complete them each day. This gives me a quick reference guide.

Then I fill out a series of pages for the year. The first page has anything that we'll do together listed, and then each child has his own page. I leave the backs of the pages blank so I have room to make additions and changes if necessary. I list each program or book, how often we should do it, and how much we should do on each day. For example, Jared's history spine is listed as: Visual History of the 20th Century, 5 pages per day, 15 pages per week. The schedule at the front is the overview, and the details are on the pages.