Menu

Teaching spelling without a curriculum?

My oldest child is going into 2nd grade and we didn't do spelling last year, so I'm new at this.  :)  Do I have to have a curriculum for this?  Are spelling lists by grade pretty standard or would I get a thousand different results if I searched for "2nd grade spelling lists"?  Can anyone recommend a site with good lists?

I have searched for articles or blog posts on doing spelling without a formal curriculum, but can't find much.  I read Leigh Bortins book, The Core, and I think she just suggested finding a list of the 1,000 most commonly used words and work from that.  Are any of you teaching spelling without a curriculum?  Thanks for the help. :)

I did not follow a spelling curriculum last year for grade 2.  We did start the year using AAS but it wasn't for us.  I wanted our spelling to follow the rules but without all the extra fluff, so I used Phonics Pathways to teach the rules and made a spelling notebook for my ds.  We did 3-4 days of spelling, depending on how much reinforcement he needed.  On the first day I taught the rule and he copied some words that used the rule into his notebook.  On day 2 we rehearsed the rule and played a "game" on the whiteboard to see who could spell the most words correctly (he always won - lol!) then we would do dictation in his notebook.  On day 3 we had a spelling test on the whiteboard.  If he got any wrong he wrote the word out 3 times in his notebook.  If he got them all correct we were done spelling for the week, if he struggled we spent more time working with that particular rule. 

It worked well for us at the time.  Next year I am using R&S as I would like all the work to be done for me and I would like spelling to be independent.