Menu

Careers for People Who Like Teaching but Don't Want to be Teachers?

JumpyTheFrog

I'm looking for career ideas. I like tutoring and coaching sports, but I don't want to be a classroom teacher. Other than tutoring, what are some career ideas for me? I want to have a back-up career that can support my family if DH ever becomes disabled.

I wanted to be a doctor as a kid until I read a book about what residency is like. I am still interested in health and nutrition, but most of these careers require FT college programs. They aren't available PT in my area. DH is supportive of homeschooling but isn't interested in doing it himself. There are no suitable schools for my kids.

I have a bachelor's degree but changed majors several times because I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life.

Any ideas? I'm looking for something that is easy to do PT, not something that is generally only a FT job. (I thought about accounting and took two courses, but it is boooooring!)

How about teaching ESL to adults? There are paying jobs in that, though I don't know how many. If you have a solid grasp of grammar, and I do mean solid (try explaining the "whys" of English to someone without it), it would be fairly easy to get ESL certified.

My brother is a paid coach for a club team. It's not terribly lucrative (!) but it's income and fits his passion. It'd be a great P/T or supplemental gig.

Or in that vein, what about teaching in spurts? City rec departments are always looking for people to teach short-term courses - you can do a sports course, or a tutoring course (writing, math, whatever you like) and it can be aimed at adults OR children OR seniors. Pretty flexible.

If it fits your personality, consider becoming a fitness/life/health/nutrition type coach or mentor. Garner an internet presence, let it feed a local presence. Build up a reputation and name over time, and work it to your schedule. Start with small health food stores, or a blog, or both.