Menu

HELP! Math Curriculum?

jea115

HELP! I have been trying for a few weeks to narrow down a choice for our math curriculum and I'm still confused! This is my first year homeschooling so I don't have anything but what he's done in public school to go on. DS is 11 and would be starting 6th grade in ps. He's very bright (the top math student in his grade the last two years in ps), picks up math very quickly and doesn't like to waste a lot of time once he's "got" it. I was originally trying to decide between Teaching Textbooks and Singapore before and I was about to order TT today when I decided to make one last looksie around before I took the (financial) plunge. This is something I should definitely avoid in the future because now I'm not convinced TT is right for him! He did the TT placement tests and breezed right through 6 and 7, getting 100 on both placement tests. So we decided he is ready for their pre-algebra, but now after reading reviews I'm worried TT will just bore him. But from what I've read Singapore wouldn't necessarily be a good fit either because we are starting so late. I haven't really looked much into other math curriculums because those were the two I've heard the best things about but now I want to explore other possibilities before I decide.

What are some good choices for a middle schooler who learns quickly and enjoys math? Some of the other things I've heard of (but know little about) are Life of Fred, Horizons, Saxon, Rod and Staff, MUS...I'm just throwing names out here, I don't know what levels these are or how they teach. I don't want a lot of repetition, and he wouldn't like constant fill-in-the-blank workbooks.

Suggestions are very much appreciated!

Hi there-welcome to the wonderful world of homeschooling!! I mean it-it's a new world for you and your whole family.