Menu

Step parent adopting 5yo - what to tell the child?

This is my first time posting, and I'm actually begging for advice for a distraught friend of mine. She has a very intelligent, verbal 5 yr. old . His father was a boyfriend she had before she got saved. She has remarried a wonderful man who wants to adopt the 5yo.

The problem is - the 5yo knows nothing about this. He thinks her current husband is HIS daddy. They want to tell him the truth since he has to be in court with them next week for the official adoption. But they are unsure of what or how much to say.

Have any of you gone through this, or do you have advice as to what to say to this little boy?

I really look forward to the responses on this. Please email me privately if this is a sensitive subject for you.

In Christ alone,

Angie

Wow, this is very similar to my story. My parents got married when I was 3.5, and my dad adopted me when I was 5. They chose not to tell me that my dad wasn't my bio-dad, and it was a huge mistake, in my opinion.

For one thing, everyone else in the family knew. And for another thing, I wasn't a dummy. When I was 13 and they were celebrating their 10th anniversary, it brought up a lot of questions. There were pictures in my baby book that weren't consistent. There was a picture from Christmas where the stockings said "Jennifer", "Mommy", and "Gary". When I asked, I was told not to ask.