Menu

If you knew ahead of time about a job loss

saraha

If you or your husband has been laid off, let go, had their job outsourced etc. can you answer a few questions for me?

My husband's midlevel supervisor job may or may not (but probably) be going to India. It won't happen right away, more like the next year or two. If you knew ahead of time, how did you prepare? I know obviously to be saving money, but how did you prepare for a career change? Especially if you are in a specialized job and it was to be your CAREER, you know, the place you retired from.

If you didn't have advanced knowledge, what do you wish you could have done?

Thanks,

Sarah

I was laid off from my job almost 4 years ago (I was a mid-level department manager at a tech company). I knew about the layoff 2 years in advance (the corporation I worked for closed down our entire Colorado Springs manufacturing facility - everyone either relocated or took the severance package).

My situation was slightly different in that I ultimately decided to stay home full-time after the layoff in order to homeschool (so I wasn't focused on finding a new job and/or preparing for a career change). However, below are some takeaways from both my own experience as well as from what I observed with my colleagues (most of whom did return to work elsewhere):

• start or ramp up your networking efforts - and connect with those new contacts via LinkedIn when possible (companies are increasingly checking LinkedIn profiles for job candidates, so that's probably the best place to consolidate your professional "online presence")
  • ask current colleagues and supervisors to write recommendations for you and "endorse" you on LinkedIn
  • take advantage of any in-house training courses offered by your current company that would enhance your resume (I really wish I would have taken the Six Sigma training offered by my company - I could have become Six Sigma certified for free, but this training would now cost me $2-3K)