Menu

Math U See Question

Guest Julia

My boys have used Math U See since Kindergarten. They have done very well with this curriculum. However, my oldest is in 5th grade and I'm thinking ahead to higher math. Do any of you have experience with using Math U See for Algebra and beyond? Did your children find it easy to understand? Did they do well on SAT or ACT tests after using Math U See? Your input and experience would be helpful.

Thanks,

Julia

I'm not an expert but my dd14 did MUS Algebra 1. When it was over, she didn't feel confident with the material at all and asked to do a traditional school approach instead. We use a private accredited high school so she enrolled in a class that used a typical public school textbook. She said there were a few concepts that she didn't remember Mr. Steve discussing but that she did feel more prepared for the 2nd round of Algebra. Personally I think she lacked confidence in her math ability because she started public high school this year as a freshman and decided to take their regular Algebra class again. She wasn't confident to take the advanced class even though she had 2 years of it! I do remember her enjoying the way Mr. Steve taught.

You might want to ask on the high school board to see if you get a more direct answer.

• 2 months later...

MUS is definitely lighter than a lot of other math programs. I have used MUS, Jacobs, Key to, and Kinetic Books for Algebra I. The lightest by far is MUS.

Key to is a step up from MUS. It goes a little deeper, has slightly more difficult problems, and goes all the way to the quadratic equation (most Algebra I programs do, but MUS and TT do not).

Jacobs is very traditional for Algebra I. It covers everything that it should, has review problems in every lesson (set 1) and is all-around a pretty neat program.