Menu

what feedback would you want for a William & Mary gifted LA unit (grades 1-2)

I took a leap and ordered "Beyond Words," a Center for Gifted Education language arts unit for grades 1-2 designed to span one semester. I plan to do this unit in the fall and winter; and since there is an old thread indicating some board members would like feedback on these units, I thought I'd ask for help figuring out ... well, what y'all would like me to figure out about it! I have zero experience reviewing or previewing curriculum.

The publisher's site isn't working properly now so I can't link to the product; but here's a link to the Kendall/Hunt Publishing online catalogue and you can search for it. Here's some info:

Price: to purchase the Teacher (about $75) and Student Guides ($13) and have them shipped to my house cost about $110, $20 of which was taxes and shipping. I couldn't find them more cheaply, or at Amazon, or get them special ordered from my local bookstore. Please post if you are able to get a better price.

"Beyond Words: 2001 Winner of a National Association for Gifted Children Curriculum Division Award for Outstanding Curriculum. Organized around the study of figurative language, including simile, metaphor, and personification, this unit explores the idea that language can change the way we think about the world by creating new images and connections in our minds.

The literature unit is designed to engage primary students with high abilities in the verbal domain in challenging reading, writing, and interpretation skills in the language arts. It reflects the need among young gifted students for a greater exposure to higher-level thinking activities sooner in their school years than other students. In addition, the unit specifically focuses on literature that utilizes extensive figurative language, with the intent of supporting young children's development of metaphoric competence in the areas of both comprehension and production."