Menu

Help for Highschool writers,50% off 'til 31 May

Guest Deirdre

Guest Deirdre

Has anyone used Brave Writer?

My 13yr old has terrible trouble writing essay's/reports and I was hoping this different approach would help. I have already bought the Writers Jungle and Help for High School home study program (as it is at a good discount at the moment) but if anyone has any other recomendations I'd love to hear them.

https://www.homeschoolbuyersco-op.org/brave-writer/?source=102057

thanks,

Deirdre

• 8 months later...

I don't know, but I am glad you posted this link! My dd is a STEM student and loathes writing. I am a good writer, but it comes easily to me, and I don't know how to grade her work. The online classes look good and are not cost-prohibitive. I am going to sign her up for the next session- thanks for posting.

p.s. I would also like to know what anyone has to say about it...thanks!

• 7 months later...
Guest texasgreenes

I never write reviews but I felt like I had to write this one.

First, let me say what I enjoyed about both The Writers Jungle and Help for High School Brave curriculum. It encouraged me to be more laidback.  Because I do not like to write, it was nice to hear a writer tell me to have fun.  The idea of having more of the child in the papers (their voice) and less of the format was a nice change and honestly a great load off my shoulders. So for that I’m thankful. 

Now for the reason I wanted to write this review.

There were two major disappointments that I faced after buying both The Jungle and Help for High School curriculum. First, I was hoping for the magic bullet. You know the one where everything becomes clear and writing becomes a great joy. ........ It never came.......... Mainly I walked away with the fact that we needed to read more, dictate more and talk about words more.  Oh and lighten up a little.  All of which I completely agree with but would have never spent that much money for!