Menu

2nd Grade Curriculum for Gifted & a good K curriculum??

mommyto4QT

Hi, I am brand new to homeschooling and feeling overwhelmed by the choices. I'm looking for recommendations for a 2nd grade curriculum that is good for gifted children (quick learner, reads above grade level, etc) along with suggestions for a Kindergartner that is an average learner.

Things that are Important to me:

1. Christian based

2. Affordability

3. Easier for a 1st time homeschooling mom to figure out.

Should I go with 2 separate curriculum or try to combine?

I thought about Heart of Dakota, but not sure if that would be a good choice??

Should I get different subjects from different places? Or try a all-in-one curriculum?

Most all-in-one curriculum are not good for gifted students. Gifted students tend to fly through some subjects and be average or behind on others. I would not combine except for areas that are average/behind for the 2nd grader, and read-alouds. IMO. What are his areas of strength?

Most all-in-one curriculum are not good for gifted students. Gifted students tend to fly through some subjects and be average or behind on others. I would not combine except for areas that are average/behind for the 2nd grader, and read-alouds. IMO. What are his areas of strength?

:iagree: :bigear:

Agree with PPs about all-in-ones.

That said, Tapestry of Grace is used effectively by at least a few parents with gifted/accelerated children here. TOG covers all years, K-12. The ancients year treats Biblical narrative as historical fact, otherwise is a fairly ecumenical curriculum (I understand). TOG suggests planning/purchasing the books one unit (that is, one quarter of a year) at a time in case children shift between levels. If you try it, it is important to not think you are supposed to be doing ALL the activities. They give a surplus so you can find what fits.