Menu

Cigna or United Healthcare?

Would you choose Cigna or UHC?  

1. 1. Would you choose Cigna or UHC?

• Cigna
    • United Healthcare

We have new choices for benefits this year. Basically, there are only 2 choices. They cost the same and the coverage levels are the same. Our only decision is whether to choose Cigna or United Healthcare. Which would you choose? We have had Aetna for the last 4 years, so I have no real experience with either of these companies.

Oh, and I have to make a choice tonight! Nothing like putting it off til the last minute, huh? ;) Thanks for your help!

We have new choices for benefits this year. Basically, there are only 2 choices. They cost the same and the coverage levels are the same. Our only decision is whether to choose Cigna or United Healthcare. Which would you choose? We have had Aetna for the last 4 years, so I have no real experience with either of these companies.

Oh, and I have to make a choice tonight! Nothing like putting it off til the last minute, huh? ;) Thanks for your help!

I've had both in the past year (and Aetna.. and BCBS..). Our coverage with UHC was better, but Cigna has been more "organized". Statement of benefits is easier to decipher. All of our UHC satements went to email and DH never prints them. We've had several medical issues the past year and no insurance problems.

ETA: UHC's coverage was only better because DH's then-company paid for a nicer plan. What things are covered is the same with both insurers.

Edited by BarbecueMom

I only know Cigna, and we are really happy with them. I have always been able to speak with a live agent, they walk me through everything and we have never been denied coverage and then had to appeal like many insurance companies. We have bent the rules at different times and there still wasn't a hassle once we submitted what we needed.