Menu

Best minivan for winter driving conditions?

We flipped our 15 passenger van with 6 kids in it the winter before last. Everyone was fine, but ever since I've not been the same with winter driving. (I mean I'm terrified, and I end up staying home more often than not.) DH wants to buy a minivan for me this year -- something that's great in winter driving conditions. Does anyone here have a minivan that drives great on snow and ice?

I've been driving my Honda Odyssey in the ice and snow for six years now, and only once, when they hadn't salted the roads at all, did I lose control of the van. I slid sideways a little onto some grass, but was able to quickly recover. But, the roads were solid ice, with no traction whatsoever. I turned around and went home after that. For the most part, the stability system light will flash when the tires lose traction and then the car will remedy itself. I live in a very snowy and icy area.

We live in Maine.

We are currently driving a Dodge Grand Caravan...I do NOT like it in the snow, but then again I'm used to driving a Suburban. ;) We had brand new all-season, aggressive tread tires on it last winter and my daughter regularly had trouble slipping and sliding into school.

My sister has a Honda Odyssey...she raves about it. She is on on-call nurse and gets called out in all kinds of weather. She has never had a problem getting to the hospital -- even in the middle of the night.

I've been driving my Honda Odyssey in the ice and snow for six years now, and only once, when they hadn't salted the roads at all, did I lose control of the van. I slid sideways a little onto some grass, but was able to quickly recover. But, the roads were solid ice, with no traction whatsoever. I turned around and went home after that. For the most part, the stability system light will flash when the tires lose traction and then the car will remedy itself. I live in a very snowy and icy area.