Menu

Various Afterschooling Materials

Good morning! Have any of you worked with Rocket Phonics, the "Games For" series, Family Math or materials sold by the Critical Thinking Co.? As you can see, I'm all over the place. I'm just getting started, and I was thinking about planning for a different topic each day (math/counting, reading/phonics, writing, etc.). I'm also planning to read to her from SOTW. Realistically, I have about one hour each evening to spend on afterschooling with my DD (turning 5). My DD's attention span is brief and she is wary of sitting down in front of workbook pages, so I hope to keep it fun and somewhat unstructured (at the advice of ladies of the WTM). We are just getting our feet wet. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Michele:)

variations of that on a computer. Some of their programs are more like computer games, though.

Personally, at that age I'd stick mostly to games, nature walks or read alouds. The one exception is that I'd make sure her pencil grip was correct. In large classrooms, that's sometimes missed. If the school wasn't teaching phonics, then I'd also teach that. Otherwise I'd just let her practice them when we were reading a book together.

When you do read aloud, don't do what my dh and I did. We'd read right through to the end without stopping for discussion or questions. Do stop and think out loud about what you've just read. Do ask for your child's thoughts. Let her read the occassional line or paragraph if the book is simple enough.

There are lots of games you can do at that age to reinforce school, but I wouldn't let her know that at age 5. Our favorite was Jr. Monopoly - Dinosaurs. Ds learned about money (bills) and dinosaurs. We also made a number line so ds would figure out payments and make change. To work on speed and logical thinking, try the card game SET. Jr Rush Hour would also work with logical thinking. Check out a lot of the junior version of logic games for the 8 and up crowd.