Menu

6yo can read anything but can't spell

ShareBear

I'm trying to make curriculum selections for my 6 y.o. for this fall semester which I hope to begin in Sept. (Prior to this we've been "unschooling.") I've got everything figured out (I think) except grammar/spelling/language arts.

He's been reading fluently since 4. I'm not sure if I can take credit for teaching him, or if you would call him self-taught. He spent a lot of time playing around on Starfall, and I read to him a lot, and we did go through the first quarter or third of Teach Your Child To Read in 100 Easy Lessons. From there he just took off on his own. My point is, there was no systematic phonics instruction. :)

Now he can and does read pretty much anything. His favorites are 5th/6th grade level fiction (like Eleanor Estes), and mid/upper elementary level science textbooks. He also enjoys writing on his "blog" (which is actually a Word document). He seems to have a pretty good feel for sentence construction, how to write a compelling story line, etc. but his punctuation and capitalization are pretty random.

And...this kid can not spell! At all. He asks for my help with the simplest words. I can't relate to this because for me, reading and spelling went hand-in-hand. If I could read it, I could spell it.

So I need to teach this child to spell. Will this involve phonics? I also want him to learn grammar. So, what sort of spelling/grammar/[phonics?] curriculum would you recommend for a young child who is already reading quite well?

Are you talking about my kids? :tongue_smilie: My kids were like that. Reading and spelling skills were far apart. I'm working through a phonics and spelling program for my younger son. Spelling instruction has made a huge difference. He is now spelling at or slightly above grade level. My older son now has spelling skills a couple years ahead of his grade level.