Menu

1st grade phonics/language arts recommendation

Guest Livinglessmom

Guest Livinglessmom

This is my first year homeschooling and we are using Classical Conversations and math u see. I have two first graders and I am not sure what to use for phonics/language arts. My kids learned phonics last year and went through readers at their school called SAM books. They can read small beginning readers but they are still learning to sound out harder words and they do not know all the rules that apply to the exceptions. They learned some about punctuation last year like periods but they do know know a whole lot beyond that. I am having the hardest time figuring out what I should do with them this year........do they still need more phonics? How much time should I spend on language arts? I need something very simple for me to implement with them b/c I clearly do not know what I am doing! I also don't want to become too ambitious and then struggle all year to keep up but I want them to have a solid reading foundation! Suggestions and input please!!!!!

Yes, they definitely need more phonics! Language Arts is the bulk of our homeschool, about 1 hour a day. For us, this is what Language Arts looks like:

Grammar: First Language Lessons

Phonics: Abeka Phonics 1

Writing: writing with ease

Spelling: All About Spelling 1

Handwriting: Handwriting without tears

For phonics, have you looked at Ordinary Parents Guide to Reading? That might be a good place to start. I really like the Peace Hill Press curricula for first grade (first language lessons, writing with ease) I feel it is such a gentle introduction to everything.

Here are a few options for LA that we considered--

Grammar: First Language Lessons, Growing with Grammar

Phonics: Abeka, Ordinary Parents guide to Reading, Phonics Pathways

Writing: writing with ease, winning with Writing

Spelling: All About Spelling 1, Spelling Workout, Spelling Power

Handwriting: Handwriting without tears, Zaner-Bloser