Menu

If you could do YOUR own education over, what would you change?

And, how has this influenced the way that you've tried to educate your own children?

Percytruffle said under Jane's thread something which I've often said: Education sometimes seems wasted on the young. At least, in my case, I didn't appreciate at the time the value or necessity of what I was being taught, or I missed opportunities I should have grabbed onto, but because of my own immaturity or whatever I failed to do so.

I'll start. My elementary and junior high education were fine---we lived in Minnesota, in a fairly decent school system.

My parents were divorced when I was in high school, so that definitely colored my choices for the next 8-10 years. I was a good student--but didn't work as hard as I could have. I wish I had paid better attention in my math classes and in physics. I learned math well enough to get A's and B's, but not well enough to really understand it, kwim? (That reminds me of an article by Jeff Baldwin, but that would be a digression.) I thought physics was dumb, and only now do I appreciate it---mostly through biographies of famous scientists. When I read why they enjoy physics or biology or whatever field they're in, I catch a glimpse of the passion they have for the subject, so I appreciate it more!

I hated P.E. in high school, and a combination of that loathing, plus the fact that my dear father (with whom I was somewhat estranged from at the time) wanted me to attend St. Olaf College, made me choose a large university---the University of Minnesota. They didn't have a P.E. requirement. (Only an immature 18-year-old, like I was, would think that way!) Now I wish I'd gone to St. Olaf. It's a great school (don't get me wrong---the U of M is, too, for different things!) and they have a wonderful choir. Had I made it in their choir, that would have been a great experience!