Menu

More public school surprise ...

Maybe some of you have read my first thread about PS. http://welltrainedmind.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2458549#post2458549

What I forgot to mention , is that the principal said this year he had A LOT of homeschoolres going back to PS due to economic reasons (moms had to go back to work) and almost ALL of them had to take remedial classes because they were so behind !!! Remember this is just an elementary school .

Now this is a big surprise to me . I thought most of hs are so advanced ... I think my son it is and I know a few other hs kids that are advanced too . Or maybe I am wrong ?

I have NO experience with public schools in USA . My kids were hs from K , now they are 7 and 6 yrs old . But the test scores speak themselves : USA is behind most countries in math & science .

http://4brevard.com/choice/international-test-scores.htm

I believe some hs are unschoolers but I do not believe that MOST as he said had to take remedial classes ...I do not know what to believe anymore ,I cannot wait to experience USA ps on my own skin :) (or my kids )

I think some of this is because they are expected to write much earlier in public schools. My kids would be behind what they expect because I have not pushed writing in the 5-point paragraph/5 paragraph essay way. However, I would put my kids' sentence writing ability against any of them though. I think this may make the homeschoolers seems more "behind" in the earlier grades.

My DD went to a Catholic high school this year as a freshman.

This school is competitive but not over the top. She had to take their test to get in and for placement. She placed at the 90th percentile in reading comprehension. That was her highest score, and I remember it because it got her into honors global studies and honors English.