Menu

Which would you choose and why - Foerster's or Dolciani's Algebra I Text?

My DH and I are in the process of determining what Algebra & Geometry book to use in our homeschool. I have a 1965 edition of Dolciani's Modern Algebra Structure and Method Book 1 and a 1994 edition of Foerster's Algebra I Expressions, Equations, & Applications. I'm not very experienced in evaluating upper level math books, but I'll give you my observations.

I am working through the Dolciani book right now. Here is what I like about the book: the concepts are logically ordered and build on one another and the lessons include oral exercises, written exercises, and problems. The answers to the odd problems are in the back of the book. I found a 1965 Teacher's Manual that's in the mail right now. I thought I would like Foerster better, but the more I work through Dolciani, the more I like it. If the book I ordered is truly the TM (it was fairly cheap, so I'm not sure), then I will probably use the Dolciani book for Algebra.

I haven't spent as much time in the Foerster book, but from my readings of the early chapters in both books, I feel like the Foerster book is not laid out as well and the terms appear haphazard. Take for instance the lesson on variables. Dolciani has definitions for variable, replacement set, domain, values, constant, variable expression, open expression, and algebraic expression. In a similar lesson, Foerster defines variable, substituting, terms, and factors. In the next lesson, Dolciani talks about factor, coefficient, exponent, and base. Foerster goes on to power, base, and exponent; he introduces equations 4 lessons after variables are defined.