Menu

Logic for 5th grader just leaving ps

I was considering starting him with Building Thinking Skills and the MindBenders puzzle books. He has never studied "formal logic" before, although he does word searches and cryptoquotes and various little puzzles like that. He likes it, so I thought we would start out very lightly.

However, I just read a thread where some people didn't really recommend the BTS series, and that was for a first grader! Now, I know logic begins in the middle years, and I don't want to start him on something too challenging, but I don't want it to be a joke, either. What level is in the neighborhood for a ten-year-old? Is there a better program? I have ZERO experience (and therefore input) in this particular area.

Thanks!

So, do you think it would be prudent to start with Logic Countdown? It says grades 3-4. The reviews read like the three books go very well together, and I don't mind if it is a fun, simple program in the beginning, but I don't want it to be too childish--I'm afraid he'll balk. Can you start in the middle of this series without losing too much? Also, should I still get a Mindbenders book, or do you think that is redundant? Forgive my absolute ignorance. I am SO glad I found this forum and TWTM before we started homeschooling!!!!!!!

I was told they could be started at grade level. I started with the middle one with my 10 year old. He had done similar things before.

You could always try the first one and whip through. Is he the type to get annoyed? My son figured out quickly that discretion is the better part of valor AKA don't tell mom it's too easy or she will fix that.

I was told they could be started at grade level. I started with the middle one with my 10 year old. He had done similar things before.

You could always try the first one and whip through. Is he the type to get annoyed? My son figured out quickly that discretion is the better part of valor AKA don't tell mom it's too easy or she will fix that.