Menu

The Dreaded Words (Math)

DD 11 started to express some math anxiety last year doing Saxon 4-- previously she had loved her math (Saxon since Grade One) and often said how good she was at it. She especially loved her meeting book that we did every morning. I was thrilled, since I'm not a math person myself and struggled with it until high school. In fourth grade Saxon changes the format and there's no more meeting book and much less teacher involvement. So, I switched her to Oak Meadow Math 5 this year to see if that would help... it seemed to have a "friendlier" approach (not as intense as Saxon) but then this week I heard the dreaded words: "I'm not good at Math!" Ugh-- this is so what I DIDN'T want for her! Is it too late to turn it around? Any suggestions for a program/curriculum that will help her regain her confidence in math? She is very creative and artsy-- definitely a right brained kid. Thoughts? :confused:

No, it's not too late. All children will probably hit some sort of "wall." Even children who are normally very good with math can find themselves stuck, frustrated and feeling badly.

Is it the format? Or is it a concept? If it is truly the format, I would have expected you would see more regular (and growing in intensity) avoidance and complaining about math time, a higher regularity of "not understanding" what was being asked, etc. (Although, a fairly compliant child may not say anything until they had pretty much reached their breaking point).

When my oldest was young, we did Saxon. It was pure torture. My son would be having fun, doing his thing -- and then I'd get out the math lesson. He would break down and cry. He *hated* the presentation and format.

I have several different math curricula around here... Singapore, Abeka, Teaching Textbooks, Sadlier-Oxford, LoF, and now the much hated Math+ from K12 (UGH, the frustrations we have there are definitely the restrictive format).