Menu

Jacob's Geometry - HELP!

We are finishing Jacob's Geometry (3rd edition) Chapter 1. I have a degree in math, and Geometry was the only math class I hated. I can tell already that I don't like this teacher's guide. I'm missing Foerster's already.

So, can anyone explain to me why Ch. 1 Review page 36 #9 has an answer of 9? The TM is absolutely no help.

It says: The following pattern can be used to form a cube. There is a picture that I will attempt to describe. It is 6 squares arranged in a cross 4 down, 3 across, 1 in common. The question is:

In how many lines do the edges of the pattern lie? The answer is 9.

This is not the first time that I have been stumped by some of the answers in the TM, and we are only on Chapter 1. If anyone has any hints, I'd be happy to hear them. I want a solutions manual. :crying:

The only hint I have is to try the 2nd edition as it is more linear and doesn't have the crazy real-world overlay for most of the problems.

As for the particular problem, I can see where he gets 9, but I don't think I could explain it without pointing at the figure, so I won't try. This type of problem is the reason we moved away from Jacobs altogether, even though we both loved him for algebra. My son simply couldn't understand what he was asking the majority of the time and I didn't have the time to explain (nor did it think it was appropriate for me to have to explain) practically every problem.

We ended up moving to TT Geometry. Not my first choice, but it did cover everything.

Lisa, you are a lifesaver!

Ds did figure it out, but there is no way that we would have ever come up with that answer ourselves.

I'll keep the TT Geometry in mind. I have a negative opinion of TT in general, but it is my understanding that the Geometry is better than the rest. I also know that if we stumble through Geometry, it won't matter in the long run.