Menu

Disturbing math conversation...

This evening Swimmer Dude informed me that next year he wanted to use the very best curriculum possible for Algebra 1. I pointed out that his results on today's work in Saxon 8/7 were less than stellar. "That's because there are 30 boring, tedious problems and I want 10 ultra-challenging ones; otherwise I am just wasting my youth.":001_huh: My plan is to use Foerster's Algebra 1 with the Math Without Borders CD. I'm good to go right? This choice will honor his request and not make him prematurely gray?

Swimmer Dude is actually do well with Saxon 8/7 but I have no desire to use their Algebra curriculum like I have with his older siblings. I was tempted to look at Dolciani but the lack of teacher support materials makes me nervous. As a math teacher, I am probably standing in the middle of the road: 4 years of high school math, 1 year of college calculus, neither love nor loathe math, and can usually work out the answer. If I don't know the "why" of it, I try to find someone who can help me.

We plan to move into Geometry in 8th grade. Is there anything else I should look at for a motivated student? Also, while he hopes to build a computer empire, he prefers as much of his school work to be delivered by book.

No advice on the Algebra (we're using NEM), but tell your young man that I am wasting my middle age doing math problems one chapter ahead of my son, precisely because I wasted my youth not doing math. (Remember, I am the one whose son gasped when he heard I had been in the honors program in college. "What, that surprised you?" I asked, indignantly. "Well, considering your math scores on the SAT, Mom, yes, I am rather surprised....")

I think his 10 challenging problems idea, though, is a good one. I used Saxon with the elder child and it was, in retrospect, rather a disaster, because of the 30-ness of the program.