Menu

Please review my 9th grade:

And comment if you feel moved. This is my first year with High School.

Math: Algebra I

Latin: 1st/2nd Form then on to Henle

English: R&S grammar, Vocab. from Classical roots, Finish IEW

History: TOG (modern)

Literature: TOG (modern)

Science: Apologia Biology (looking for a co-op lab, probably will be me)

Logic: Traditional Logic I (then II?)

Electives: Tae Kwon Do (going for black belt before 11th grade), Piano, Computer Science course with Dad- probably on weekends. Can I give credit?

I don't know how to credit them all yet, and I need to review TOG's literature instruction. We may need a short course over the summer. We have done no real literary analysis yet. Any suggestions?

Jo

I don't know some of those programs, so can't really comment much.

About the credit: There are a certain amount of hours for one credit (anywhere from 120-160--you need to see what your state/area says is the amount of hours needed for a credit), and basically half that for 1 semester/half-credit.

From what I've heard, your dh would need to keep records of what was covered, any tests, etc., and keep track of the hours spent. If the "tests" are just your ds showing what he's learned by doing certain things on the computer, with no written/paper test, then just a list of what was covered and the "grade" he got would work. If they keep good record of these things it shouldn't be a problem to count it as an elective 1/2 credit.

And comment if you feel moved. This is my first year with High School.

Math: Algebra I

Latin: 1st/2nd Form then on to Henle

English: R&S grammar, Vocab. from Classical roots, Finish IEW

History: TOG (modern)

Literature: TOG (modern)

Science: Apologia Biology (looking for a co-op lab, probably will be me)

Logic: Traditional Logic I (then II?)

Electives: Tae Kwon Do (going for black belt before 11th grade), Piano, Computer Science course with Dad- probably on weekends. Can I give credit?