Menu

How many credits for graduation?

How many credits does your state require?

I am in New Jersey and according to them you need 120 credits.

Does that sound correct? I think I 'm confused after looking at Oak Meadow where it says you need 21+ credits for high school.

New Jersey also requires Algebra 1, Geometry and a third year of math.

We are doing Algebra 1 in 8th grade. Do you include that in your high school transcript?

Thanks for any help. I am trying to wrap my head around all of this as I get my planning started.

Obviously, NJ is like CA in the way they call their hs credits. If you think 1 credit = 1yr you'll understand everyone else.

In FL it's 24, in Maine it's 17.5, when I graduated in TN it was 19. . . You see the story.

As long as they cover the basics needed for college admissions, your good IMO.

NJ does have a lot of requirements for public high school graduates. Dh works at a private school in NJ and they are not required to meet those graduation requirements. I spoke to the admissions department at Rutgers, and their requirements for admission are not nearly as broad as the NJ state requirements for public high school graduation. I remember reading on the HSLDA website about the homeschooling requirements for NJ, and they were by no means equivalent to what's required to graduate from a NJ public high school. By law, as NJ homeschoolers, I think we're supposed to have the kids do PE every year for 2.5 hours per week and two years of American history in high school. One year of American government can substitute for one year of American history.

HTH! If I'm wrong about anything here, I hope someone will correct me.

I was scouting around on line and it looks as though NJ considers one year of a high school English, math, or science to be equivalent to 5 credits. Therefore if 120 credits are required that would be analogous to 24 of the high school credits you typically hear discussed here.

Regards,

Kareni