Menu

With some trepidation-I'll volunteer to attempt to assist with science.

Catherine

I'm a practicing MD, and have homeschooled for five years, have as of this year done every grade but senior. In fact I was not a science major in college, I majored in English (every time Garrison Keillor jokes about english majors having useless degrees-well, there ya go). I claim no familiarity with many of the curricula out there, but know only what I have used and how I have done it. But I'm happy to answer questions about science or questions regarding medical careers, as far as my knowledge goes.

• 2 months later...

I'd love to know what you did choose to use and how you went about it -- particularly interested whether what you did changed with different children.

There are a lot of reasons for that. I'll say first that I only taught K-3 to one child. The middle started in fourth, the elder, in seventh. So I only have comparison years for seventh grade so far! And, used the same program for both kids: Conceptual Physics by Paul Hewitt. Eldest loved it. Middle likes it, but it's not his thing, so there's less enthusiasm. I purchased the teacher's edition, student text and lab manual. Warning-there are MANY editions of this textbook, and you cannot be sure that texts published the same year are the same edition. Since I buy most texts used, I didn't buy them unless there was a photo so that I could be certain I got the matching edition. I got the lab manual several months ahead and chose the experiments, and then got materials for labs from Home Science Tools and Carolina Lab Supplies. That whole process is rather time-consuming. In the end, I love this curriculum and will definitely use it again with number three. It's technically a high school program but is useable by any middle schooler with above average math and science skills\interest.