Menu

CW & R&S continue to use together?

I thought I had made up my mind to stop using R&S with CW next year-Why?

1) It seems to be getting repetitive dd8 is finishing R&S4 & mid way in Aesop B,

2) I really wanted to streamline the whole LA program

I'm using the workbooks & IG, should I be customizing more? R&S4 is way ahead of Aesop in terms of grammar, Aesop B is right where she needs to be for the writing but behind her in the grammar.

I'm having second thoughts after reading several posts about using them together. And I think I having trouble letting go of such a great program.

Plus while I did have grammar in hs it was very basic, can't really remember much, I'm studying Harvey's Gr in order to stay ahead, also for help in Latin.

Any thoughts? Did anyone drop R&S and then go back to using it?

Before I found CW, I read LCC. I really liked the philosophy, and even now I continue to scrutinize our schedule each year and/or semester to make sure that what we are doing is worth the time that we invest. Teaching English grammar through Latin made sense; however, I never felt comfortable dropping R&S grammar, so I didn't. I think that part of this stems from the fact that I did not have a strong background in grammar.

I've spent the past year trying to come up to speed in grammar so that I can adequately teach not only R&S grammar, but CW & Latin also. I had a few courses in ps on grammar, but I really only came away with the definition of noun & verb and a few punctuation rules. Therefore, I wanted my boys to be well grounded in grammar, and that's what R&S is doing.