Menu

How do I sanitize after family-wide stomach bug?

Ok...I think we survived. The jury is still out on a couple of the family members, but others of us are moving in the right direction. I am absolutely exhausted. We have never been sicker in our lives. Between the five of us we have propably lost 20 pounds. So now I am completely paranoid in my home. How will I ever get my house disinfected? It is a disaster and I don't know where to start. I've got laundry going. Do I need to throw away things like stuffed animals and throw pillows? I am considering throwing away all pillows or is it enough just to wash pillow cases?

Walk me through this ladies. This is my first time dealing with this. Thanks. Thanks. Thanks.

Laurel T.

This is just my $.02, but I would get some disinfecting wipes and wipe down commonly touched things - like doorknobs, faucets, and the TV remote. I would also get a big can of Lysol and go to town on things like sofas, beds and the stuffed animals. I wouldn't throw them out, just Lysol the ones that can't go in the wash. That should go a long way towards killing the germs. At least til you feel like doing a more thorough cleaning. Hope you all are better soon!

Thanks so much. Some of us still have symptoms so I don't even know what I can accomplish at this point. I just don't want those who have recovered to get it again. There is no room in my house that I feel comfortable putting the baby down in at this point. It just feels like the germs are still in the air.

Let's just say this is not how I planned on celebrating Thanksgiving!

OK - let's think this through. I'm going to assume this was viral.

If you've all had it, you've all been exposed and you've all either already built up some immunity (or are in the process of doing so) to THIS strain of whatever it was. (Noroviruses & similar have many strains so it's hard - impossible? - to build up immunity to all of them; but you'll get immunity to THIS one).