Menu

Need suggestions for teen adopted from Moldova

I'm writing from Nashville, TN and I have a single friend who recently adopted a teen girl from Moldova. She has been in the states for about 4 months, knew some English when she came over and is currently attending an English immersion class.

My friend would like to have her daughter tested to see where she is so that she can best know how to place her and help her. The girl is quite bright and has a tremendous hunger and appreciation for the opportunity to learn. The mom will not be homeschooling, but plans to supplement her school learning with tutors and work at home as needed to support her.

Any recommendations for tests that she should look into? Where should she look for outside tutors? I'm new to homeschooling myself and knew you guys are a tremendous source of information. Thank you in advance for any suggestions that you may have for me to pass along to her.

One of my students was adopted from Haiti three years ago and she has made SUCH HUGE progress over the last 3 years. She is homeschooled (and goes to the co-op where I teach). It has been a lot of work and at times discouraging to be so far behind her peers, but she is doing very well!!

I don't know of any testing resources, though. Sorry.

These are two resources that we have here in town. Can anyone here speak to having used one of these? I plan to call and interview them, but was hoping to get some references from people who have actually used them.

Also, are there any free testing resources that she would have access to via the internet that might help her? I'm going to contact a couple of umbrella schools to see if they would work with her for testing purposes.

Thank you for your responses!

Have a great day!