What's with the ads?

Photo

CLE Reading 3 vs Pathway Reading

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

What's with the ads?

#1 MeAndTheBoys

MeAndTheBoys

Hive Mind Level 4 Worker: Builder Bee

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 535 posts

Posted 14 July 2009 - 02:28 PM

We started the year doing Sonlight Readers 2. He has loved the books; we have one left, I think. But the discussion questions didn't really add anything to it, and I felt we needed more comp questions and I'm not good at making those up myself---

So I had found the Pathway Grade 2 readers (there are 3 for the year) cheap at a used curriculum sale (paid maybe $2 each?) and I bought the first 2 workbooks. We're nearly through the 1st one now, and he really enjoys the stories and I like what is covered in the workbooks--phonics, things like alphabetizing--and comprehension questions. My son likes the curriculum, it takes him maybe 10-20 minutes to do, and the price is right.

I used CLE Reading Grade 1 (I Wonder) and we liked it a lot too--but it was pricier than Pathway--but I've read so many posts on here and other sites about it being such a great reading program---

Can anyone who has used both Pathway and CLE compare them for me? ETA--or anyone who has ANY opinion good or bad on one or either of these, or another suggestion??

N. reads a lot on his own, and I would like to add in some of what I"ve read in WTM for reading--writing summaries and the like--for these non-textbooks, but I think I would like also like to continue a reading curriculum for at least another year.

Any suggestions? We are doing WWE (about to start Level 2) and I love the way it has questions spelled out for me. Is there a resource like that for "real books" for the subject of reading? If I could find a reading curriculum that reads a "real book" and walks us through understanding it, summarizing, etc--that would be great too---

Thanks!
Betsy